top of page

A Mother’s Blessing for yours truly

I recently had the privilege of planning and experiencing, my first Mother’s Blessing. A Mother’s Blessing is a celebration that is starting to pick up popularity as an alternative to a baby shower. It by no means though is something new; in fact, it is loosely based off of a Navaho tradition called a Blessingway. A Blesssingway is a Navaho tradition that honours the woman’s transition from maiden to mother. It takes the focus that is typically on the baby and puts it back on the mother.

The Birth without fear blog said it best:

“A women’s closest girlfriends and family gather in love to build up her mind, body, and soul in preparation for her journey to motherhood. It is intended that the mother-to-be leaves bursting full of love, strength, confidence and belief in the ability of her body to birth her baby. “- 10 ways to plan a Mother Blessing

One thing I love about this alternative to a baby shower is, it is perfect for those pregnant for a consecutive time. Just because you’ve had a baby before doesn’t mean there isn’t a reason to celebrate. It doesn’t mean there’s isn’t a need for the mother to feel supported and encouraged before baby arrives. The transition of adding another child to your family is always a big one no matter how many times you’ve done it before.

This was why I decided to plan one for myself recently. I’m currently expecting my third and felt more than ever the need to feel supported by my “village”. This pregnancy is also going to be my last (God willing), so I really wanted to honour these last few moments.

As I started planning and researching for my Mother’s Blessing, I found that it is such a unique and customizable experience. This made me more excited to plan and look forward to the actual event. For me personally I’m not a very touchy person. So, the idea of getting my friends and family to give me massages or wash my feet really didn’t appeal. So, I steered clear of elements like that that others have had involved. For someone else though that may be a highlight and the perfect way to make them feel pampered.

I decided on the following activities for my Mother’s Blessing:

*Making floral crowns(headbands) so everyone can feel beautiful

*Creating affirmation cards to be strung up during labour

*Ribbon binding (symbolic of the unity of those present)

* And a time of prayer over mother and baby

Having only a few activities on the schedule really created time for conversation between those present at the party. If I had wanted more activities or had more people present, I would have had to have more structure to the evening, instead of letting it flow naturally.

Something I hadn’t planned for originally was for someone to take photos. (Something I personally forget all the time). Thankfully my wonderfully talented cousin Hayley with Peaceful Nest Birth Services, asked to try out her new camera at the event. So, I lucked into some amazing photos. Having photos from an experience like this will bring beautiful lasting memories.

After experiencing a Mother’s Blessing firsthand as a mother, I would highly recommend this experience to anyone. For a first-time mother or a seasoned one, I can’t say enough about the importance of being surrounded by the women in your life and being lavished upon before you go through the remarkable journey of bringing another person into your family. This celebration would also be perfect for those going through an adoption as well.

Going forward I can’t wait to add this to the services I offer as a Doula. Having the opportunity to plan such a meaningful event will be such an honour and joy. If this is something that would interest, you or you’d love to honour someone with one you can keep yourselves in the loop with either subscribing to my website or following along with me on Facebook or Instagram for the newest additions to my services. (Mother’s Blessings and more)

bottom of page